playMaker

Author Topic: Psave Pseudoburger  (Read 23227 times)

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #30 on: August 06, 2013, 04:54:18 PM »
--

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #31 on: August 21, 2013, 06:57:42 PM »
Another update? How about that.

--

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #32 on: August 21, 2013, 07:36:24 PM »


Really impressed with your updates and progress, keep going!
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

escpodgames

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 687
    • Assets
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #33 on: August 22, 2013, 12:27:26 AM »
Just saw this for the first time, really nice work!

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #34 on: September 05, 2013, 09:45:29 PM »
@Lane and LampRabbit: Thanks!

--

parallel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #35 on: September 06, 2013, 04:51:44 AM »
Digging your updates zaskaggs. Are you just working the ordinary GUI or are you using some other package?

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #36 on: September 06, 2013, 09:42:20 AM »
Are you just working the ordinary GUI or are you using some other package?

I'm just using Unity's default UI system. It's not the most convenient method but it is the cheapest. :)
--

NetGhost03

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #37 on: September 08, 2013, 08:05:42 AM »
It's really impressing.
You're animations are cool, are you using unity's mecanim?

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #38 on: September 08, 2013, 11:45:58 AM »
You're animations are cool, are you using unity's mecanim?

Thanks! I'm actually using the legacy system for now. I might look into Mecanim in the future though.
--

jess84

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #39 on: September 21, 2013, 06:39:29 PM »
I was wondering, how / what actions did you use for the dialog system so that the dialog appears over your main character's head? Are you creating a child object on him?

And for the NPC (the talking sphere), how are you getting the text to appear above the sphere regardless of where it is on the screen due to player movement?

Thanks,

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #40 on: September 21, 2013, 10:40:53 PM »
@jess84: The answer is actually the same in both instances.

What I do is create an empty for each character that rests just above their respective heads. I then get the position of this empty every frame using 'Get Position', transform that vector3 into Screen X and Y positions using a 'World To Screen Point' action and use 'Set Position' to set these values to the X and Y positions of the speech bubble (which fundamentally is just a GUI Text object).

I actually get and set the X and Y positions in separate FSMs so that I can continuously check their positions against margins I've defined and lock them in place if they get too close to the edge of the screen. This way the speech bubble never goes off the screen.

Hope that helped.
--

jess84

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #41 on: September 22, 2013, 08:43:50 AM »
Thanks, that's really useful information.  I was kinda guessing that's how it was going to be done, but after a quick test, it didn't work.

I seem to be replicating what you've done, but encounter the following problem...

It's setting the values of my Vector3 (e.g. world object at -6,1,0 becomes something like 220,200,12), I create a GUI object, but it's way off-screen. How do you translate the value to be screen relevant position like a 0.5,0.5,0 ?

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #42 on: September 22, 2013, 09:08:41 AM »
It's setting the values of my Vector3 (e.g. world object at -6,1,0 becomes something like 220,200,12), I create a GUI object, but it's way off-screen. How do you translate the value to be screen relevant position like a 0.5,0.5,0 ?

On the 'World To Screen Point' action there's a checkbox called 'Normalize'.  If you check this it'll break down the vector3 into usable screen coordinates. By default it's unchecked, so it gives you the screen location of the object in terms of pixels, which isn't likely what you're after here.
--

jess84

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #43 on: September 22, 2013, 04:29:09 PM »
Ah, normalize. I wouldn't have guessed that's what it did  :)

I seem to have moved further away from it working after my attempts to get it working though.

Is there any chance you could list exactly which actions are used, and what the perameters are? I'd getting a little confused between the Vector3's that I'm saving to, and calling.  (think of it as explaining to a small child  :))

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Psave Pseudoburger
« Reply #44 on: September 25, 2013, 12:33:09 AM »
Instead of typing up a pretty long-winded explanation I decided to throw together a simple example (attached).
--