playMaker

Author Topic: High Draw Calls  (Read 2577 times)

DaiDesign

• Playmaker Newbie
High Draw Calls
« on: March 25, 2013, 05:55:49 AM »
Hi There,

I'm very new to Unity and Playmaker, so please be gentle with your answer/s.

Is there a way to reduce the draw calls when a texture is offset (using texture atlas).

Here's what I'm doing (or trying to do :)

I followed the video tutorial no 6 - Platform Color Change as it was similar to what I was trying to achieve. When a character walks on a floating platform, made up of tiles, he will have to light up certain tiles to try and solve a puzzle that will then open a door on the other side. The tiles will alternate on/off as he walks on them with the option to turn them on/off as often as he likes (like the video tutorial) until he solves the puzzle.

Problem

Every time he triggers a tile by moving over the tile, which offsets the texture (using the same setup as in the video, except I'm using textures) the draw calls keep going up as they are being instanced. I've tried using CombineChildren.cs and OptimizedCombineChildren.cs but that of course does not work.

Is there a way to do the above but keep the draw calls from going up, as this is going to be a mobile game.

P.S. - I tried a script on this website but as I'm not a coder, I had no clue how to fix the problems in the script. Not sure if it would work anyway.

(remove spaces)
unitygameproject . blogspot . co . uk/2010/03/mesh-combine-at-runtime-unity . html

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: High Draw Calls
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 06:56:11 AM »
Hi,

What kind of tools are you using to show these textures? if you don't use any, then you should. Something like nGUi, 2dToolkit, etc etc, they will do that calls reducing automatically for you, and you will gain a lot of power.