playMaker

Author Topic: Instanced Actions  (Read 3186 times)

julius

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Instanced Actions
« on: February 12, 2013, 01:22:42 PM »
Hey All,

I would love to be able to instance actions. I.E. I would love to make one action that I can duplicate to multiple locations but if I change one all of the instanced (duplicated) actions update as well. Along these lines I would love to be able to make instances of an action set and put it into a sub action.

Alex Chouls

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3581
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
    • LinkedIn
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 03:41:15 PM »
You should be able to do this now with the Run FSM action and templates. Have you had a chance to play with this in 1.5?

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 11:26:32 AM »
Is there a tutorial for this? It would come very helpful to me as well!

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2013, 07:10:18 AM »
Alex, I'm trying to use the RUN FSM action but it doesn't seem to work.

I have saved the action I want to be run as a template, and set on 3 objects a RUN FSM action to call it.

One thing I don't know is how the settings in the RUN FSM action work.
I don't want to set any of the variables from there because they are all calculated inside the FSM itself.

So, the 3 objects with the RUN FSM do not react correctly (or to be honest they don't really seem to load the action), and to test it, I copied the same action and pasted it on another object, and it works.

Is there any way to debug RUN FSM or see what's happening?

« Last Edit: April 10, 2013, 11:13:45 AM by megmaltese »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14059
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2013, 11:13:37 PM »
Hi,

 do you have the latest playmaker? sub fsm was broken in the last update,

bye,

 Jean

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2013, 11:51:44 PM »
Uhhh what is SUB FSM?
My version is 1.5.4f3.

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14059
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2013, 12:19:41 AM »
Hi,

 sub fsm is this feature that allows you to run fsm template.

indeed, update playmaker from your asset store window and try again.

bye,

 Jean

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2013, 03:09:47 AM »
Updated to 1.5.6, still no luck, nothing changed.

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14059
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2013, 12:01:28 AM »
Hi,

 can you report a bug? or share a packaged scene?

bye,

 Jean

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2013, 09:23:23 AM »
I sent you an email  ::)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14059
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2013, 11:57:43 PM »
Hi,

 ok, you found a bug, I can repro, basically, the action "collision event" does not trigger within a sub fsm. So for now I would suggest that either you create your fsm as a reaction to the trigger event declared in the parent fsm, or else you use the actual global event ONTRIGGERENTER which works within a sub fsm, I tested. you can then filter triggers if you want.

 I filed a bug, so It will likely be fixed on the next update.

bye,

 Jean

megmaltese

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
Re: Instanced Actions
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2013, 12:29:17 AM »
Thank you very much, man!  ;D