playMaker

Author Topic: Arraymaker - creating tabbed inventory  (Read 2169 times)

kyoung

• Playmaker Newbie
Arraymaker - creating tabbed inventory
« on: August 09, 2013, 05:54:39 PM »
Please forgive me, I'm relatively new to Playmaker, Arraymaker, and game development in general. But I am very thankful that these tools are available for someone with little-to-no knowledge of coding like me.

So I am using Arraymaker, and attempting to build a tabbed inventory. Specifically, I've got five tabs that can each be selected, and should only display items in that specific category when selected. Right now, I've got one array that is pre-loaded with all the available items, and I've got an FSM on each tab that pulls each item from the array, gives them a GameObject variable, checks the tag of that GameObject, then if the item has the correct tag, it activates the item, and if it does not, moves on to the next item. Right now I've only got a total of five items, so it's not a big problem, but I'm concerned that when I've got upwards of 200 items to cycle through, this will become a difficult and time-consuming process.

Is there' any way I can have different arrays for each tab with only the items that belong in that tab, and just have Arraymaker pull and activate each item in the array when each tab is clicked? Is this something that sounds like a possibility? Or is my method right now going to be effective and not memory-consuming enough to worry about?

Thank you everyone!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Arraymaker - creating tabbed inventory
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 06:00:15 AM »
Hi,

yes you can have individual arrays for each tab.

Looping through 200 should be ok.

what 2d framework are you using?

Jean

kyoung

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 07:46:42 PM »
Thank you for your response, Jean!