playMaker

Author Topic: Best Practices  (Read 10102 times)

Jim W

• 1.2 Beta
  • Playmaker Newbie
Best Practices
« on: July 09, 2011, 01:41:48 PM »
Hi,

I'm an experienced programmer, but have not done that much using FSMs.  I'm trying to find some good resources on how to best integrate multiple state machines (in the context of playMaker).  Specifically I'm looking for high level thoughts on how to structure the variables and events when dealing with communications between lots of FSMs.  I've looked at many of the examples but it seemed that once things get more complex, more thought definitely needs to go into the overall structure (what FSMs are responsible for what, how to best break apart the responsibilities of each FSM, naming conventions, etc). 

Anyone want to contribute any thoughts?

Maybe suggest a good ultra complex playmaker example that shows off these best practices?

Or a good FSM book/paper that focuses on some theory that can be applied to playMaker?

Thanks for any help.
Jim

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Best Practices
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 04:09:05 AM »
Hi Jim,

The biggest pitfall is loose coupling in my opinion. Since it's all pretty much about events, building big projects really call for maintaining good and accurate informations and documentations about who is responsible for what. That's currently my biggest time consuming factor when I need to debug or edit a fsm or feature.