playMaker

Author Topic: Rotate Object to the Movement Direction of a different Object  (Read 5000 times)

aiya

• Playmaker Newbie
Rotate Object to the Movement Direction of a different Object
« on: January 12, 2014, 02:37:01 PM »
Hi awesome Playmakers,

I'm pretty new to Unity & Playmaker so your help is really appreciated! Maybe this Question is easy to answer but I can't get it right.

I have a moving/playable shopping cart and I am really happy with the gameplay so far. Now I want that the wheels of the shopping cart rotate to the direction of the shopping cart's movement. So the Z-Axis, for example, simply needs to face the direction. Since I use torque to move the cart around, so that it feels really nice, I am a bit clueless of how to get the direction.

I already tried to get the Position of the cart and store it into a Vector and then use this as the Target Direction for a "Smooth Look At Direction" Action on a wheel. But this doesn't really work out.

It doesn't have to be super-accurate or physical correct.. just perform a bit like a real shopping cart wheel would perform.

Thanks in advance! I'm really thankful for every little hint.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 02:41:39 PM by aiya »
The truth is out there. Anybody got the URL?

MajorIdea

Re: Rotate Object to the Movement Direction of a different Object
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2014, 03:35:23 PM »
Hmm... maybe you could get and store the rotation values of the cart relative to the world every frame and set the rotation of the wheels to those values also every frame?

aiya

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2014, 04:14:40 PM »
Hi MajorIdea,

thanks for replying! That would be a nice little trick but sadly it doesn't work in that case (at least in my understanding (sorry if I'm wrong)) because the shopping cart can also roll sideways (not like cars which only roll forwards). So the wheels always stay in the direction of the cart.