playMaker

Author Topic: Need Help Making One Object Visible While Destroying Another on Mouse Click  (Read 2457 times)

missc

• Playmaker Newbie
Hello! I'm a Playmaker newb over here, but have been doing my best to search through the forums and have figured out answers to most of my questions on my own. This one problem has me stuck however, so please help if you can!

I have an object in a scene (a stump) that when the mouse clicks on it, I want it to "change" into a different object (a tree). I currently have the stump visible in the scene and the tree placed in the same space as the stump, but with the mesh renderer off. I have been trying all sorts of FSM scenarios, from Activate Object to Make Visible to Destroy Self, etc etc...I know I am so close (and it seems like it should be so easy!), but at this point am all turned around.

Any ideas? And a huge thank you in advance - I'm sure you will figure out in 2 seconds what has been taking me a week+!

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Are you targeting the correct game object with those actions?
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

missc

• Playmaker Newbie
I thought I was...but have tried so many combos at this point that I don't know what's correct!

I should also mention that I have both the stump and the tree stored in the hierarchy under separate empty game objects - not sure if that makes any difference.

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
You have to target the actual gameobject you want to activate/deactivate. Targetting the wrapper/parent gameobject will turn all of the children off as well.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

Marsh

• Comfort the disturbed, disturb the comfortable