playMaker

Author Topic: Add Force Towards Object  (Read 3051 times)

jasperPT

• I am a VFX Animator teaching myself to make games
Add Force Towards Object
« on: April 07, 2014, 11:48:16 AM »
Hi,
I am trying to create a tractor beam type situation, that can have multiple beams pulling on an object at the same time.

The method I am going about it by is to try and raycast from my "gun" to the object, then adding a negative force at the point which my ray hits.
However I dont seem to have an option to raycast towards an object.

Is this the right way to go about doing something like this?

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Add Force Towards Object
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 07:03:39 AM »
Hi,

simply define yourself the direction of the raycast. Use "transform direction" to get the direction from a gameobject to point where ever you need from that object local reference.

bye,

Jean

jasperPT

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 08:50:00 AM »
Hi Jean

Thanks for the help but it doesn't make any sense to me.

I don't know what the direction is that I need to point in, and that is what will change every frame.
Transform Direction asks for a "Target direction" which is what I assume is the direction of the object im trying to point my raycast at? It needs a vector 3 which makes sense but I have no way of figuring out what that vector 3 needs to be.

sebaslive

• Frame Tale Studios
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 12:20:19 PM »
Animators gotta look out for one another :D and awesome work with the ninja turtle animation!!

I plan on using something like this in my own game but carrying a bunch of more cows at once so it's not just one by one BUT I think this will be a good start for whatever you need. At the very least, answer the question here.

If you have any questions about the scene or would be interested when I get the multiple carries set up just let me know!