playMaker

Author Topic: 2.5D Platformer newbie questions...  (Read 4085 times)

BioFan

• Playmaker Newbie
2.5D Platformer newbie questions...
« on: October 17, 2014, 05:49:36 AM »
Hi All,

I guess this is also an introduction. I got playmaker for a while now but am only starting to use this.

I'm an artist who wants to make own game but I lack in my programming skill.
I bought a 2.5D platformer kit at the unity store and was thinking to combine it with playmaker.

Now I got an issue, the kit doesn't do "Ledge Hang/Climb", "Ladder Climb" and "Rope Swing", which is quite crucial for my gameplay.
I was trying to do those actions using playmaker, but I run into a problem. When I enter the "ladder" trigger, how do I turn my movement off when the user starts climbing. I was following a tutorial and couldnt figure out how to make the movements as FSM. The kit has a very nice physics and all but will it be easier in the long run if I do everything in Playmaker?Is there a way to over ride the movement input in C# to Playmaker FSM?

I will update my game progress in this forum at a future time. :)
« Last Edit: October 17, 2014, 05:55:39 AM by BioFan »

cloud03

• Viva Playmaker!
    • Milkish Game Studios Blog
Re: 2.5D Platformer newbie questions...
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 09:02:19 AM »
I've created a pretty extensive tutorial covering this, please check this thread out:
http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=5671.0

As in this moment, it covers Ledge climbing, but soon I will release another episode dealing with rope swinging and ladder climbing...

BioFan

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2014, 08:33:49 AM »
I was actually following your tutorial then I came to this part where I have to turn my movement off and I realised that it wasn't set using Playmaker. Know what I need to do?

cloud03

• Viva Playmaker!
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2014, 11:09:10 AM »