playMaker

Author Topic: RunFSM crash  (Read 2225 times)

iozo

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
RunFSM crash
« on: October 22, 2014, 08:54:49 PM »
Hi,

I'm trying to use FSM templates to start sequence of FSMs one after the other.
I created a few FSMs and saved them as templates. Each FSM terminates with a FinishFSM Action to notify its parent to start the next template.

RunFSM generates a NULL Reference Error on variable assignment on the first FSM it starts with RunFSM. The FSM starts with a few variable initialization.

If I copy paste the FSM states in the main FSM, it works well.
If I put a breakpoint on the startup state in the template it breaks cleanly and works well when I continue running from the breakpoint.
If I remove the breakpoint it crashes most of the time with the NULL Reference Error on variable assignment.

Is there any check to make in the calling state or in the template or is it a bug ?
Playmaker is 1.7.7.2, Unity is 4.6 Beta.

thanks

Alex Chouls

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4002
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • LinkedIn
Re: RunFSM crash
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 12:00:49 AM »
It sounds like a bug. RunFSM has changed quite a bit in the next update. I'll PM you about joining the beta. I'd like to see if it fixes your issue...

iozo

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: RunFSM crash
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2014, 07:03:02 PM »
many thanks for the beta.

I ran a quick test with it and apparently the error has gone.
However I have another issue which does not prevent the game to run.

The FSM is attached to a game object called grid and loads a template called PATTERN 16H5
The first action I run is Get Child Num with parameter set as (Use Owner, indexvar, store gameobject var).

PM reports a strange error : grid:PATTERN 16H5 : GetChildNum: Missing variable: grid



Alex Chouls

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4002
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • LinkedIn
Re: RunFSM crash
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 02:35:45 AM »
Can you post a screenshot of the action stack.
Are you using a variable called "grid"?