playMaker

Author Topic: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps. [Solved]  (Read 4376 times)

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
I'd love to make my text letters appear one letter at a time, just like in Nintendo games. (see attached image.)

I have an idea on how I might do this... but my idea is LONG and TEDIOUS, and involves manually making each letter appear.  (my idea below.)  My big question: is there a simpler or automated way on how to approach this?  Please save me from my long tedious idea.

My (bad?) idea: Have a line of text appear.  Have a plane covering and hiding the text.  Have a FSM on the plane that: 1.) moves to uncover a single letter, 2.) plays SFX, 3.) wait.  Next state, uncover one more letter... again and again.  I'd manually program each position of the plane because of varying widths of letters.

Thank you for any help,
Chris (createasaurus)
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 03:49:56 PM by createasaurus »

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2014, 11:43:10 AM »
The method you described would certainly be tedious.  I've attached an image that demonstrates the basic method I would use, as well as a package example you can import and take a look at.

I'm using the GUI system, but if you're wedded to doing things in 3d you could certainly adapt the concept.

Take a look at the attachments, and if you have any questions about them feel free to ask.  :)
--

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 12:29:05 PM »
Hi zaskaggs,
I just wanted to give a quick and big ***Thank you!!!***  before I begin implementing and testing.  I will be updating this post with my results.
All Best,
Chris (createasearus)

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2014, 05:20:01 PM »
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

IDontKnow

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2014, 05:47:51 PM »
Well, that looks about as easy as it gets. I imagine that'll be a useful action for a lot of people.

Thanks Lane (and Jean).  :)
--

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2014, 08:46:56 AM »
Hi Lane,

This is AMAZING!!!  It will save me so much toil and trouble.  Thank you!  I've actually wanted to be able to do this for a LONG time, but didn't know where to start, and whenever I typed "text" in PlayMaker forums search, it was flooded with "texture" conversations, so I didn't know this existed.  Thank you!!!!

QUESTION:  I cannot seem to get the sound FX to work.  Disclaimer, I am a beginner, so I might be overlooking something simple.
1.) pull SFX.wav into project
2.) uncheck 3D sound
3.) in String Typerwriter, check Use Sounds
4.) put SFX.wav in typing sound
5.) Audio Source Obj - Use Owner.  (this is an empty game object at 0,0,0)

Thanks again!!!
Chris (createasaurus)

Also, thank you very much, zaskaggs, for the help too!

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2014, 09:04:26 AM »
The object you choose as your audio source has to have an audio source component.

You should see a notification in the console that tells you if something didn't work when doing the Audio... I'll test this. It should actually be a warning or error instead of a log, probably should update it.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2014, 09:09:54 AM by Lane »
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2014, 12:10:02 PM »
Perfect!  It works great, beeps and all!  Thank you again!!!

I was recieving an error on play, that I did not notice before.
Quote
AudioSource component not found.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2014, 01:27:00 PM by Lane »

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps.
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2014, 01:27:06 PM »
Perfect!  It works great, beeps and all!  Thank you again!!!

I was recieving an error on play, that I did not notice before.
Quote
AudioSource component not found.

I'll update the errors so they are easier to notice. Also updating for punctuation marks and other little fixes.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps. [solved]
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2014, 05:02:45 PM »
Quote
I'll update the errors so they are easier to notice. Also updating for punctuation marks and other little fixes.

Thank you, so much.  I'll check back for the new and improved version.  Loving it so far.

All best,
Chris (createasaurus)

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Make text letters appear one at a time, with little beeps. [solved]
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2014, 09:13:51 AM »
I seem to have a problem when looping among states with String Typewriter.

Here are my steps:
1) Make a GUI Text Object and set the font and font size
2.) Add String Typewriter: Base String "Typing Test", finish event FINISHED
3.) Add Set GUI Text
4.) Copy this state a few times, link them together.  Last state links to the first making a loop.

Result:
Typing Test, Typing Test, Typing Test, Typing Test
Then nothing more when it returns to the first state.  It just pauses on the first state.

I'd like to make it so I can talk to the character again and again, and he will keep saying the message.  This requires a loop.

Again, I'm a beginner, so if I'm missing something obvious, my apologies.

Many thanks!!!
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 09:17:56 AM by createasaurus »

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Bug!

Fixed! Download new version, please.

=)
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I plan to use this so much.  THANK YOU!!!     ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Looping works great.  Audio warning very obvious now.

One last "bug" with punctuation...  When asking a question, the question mark seems to drop off, when using Finish Event.  So "Is this a bug?"  would be written as "Is this a bug"  My work around is to use 2 question marks like "Is this a bug??", so the last one drops off.  I'm happy to continue with this work around.  Thoughts?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 11:25:39 AM by createasaurus »

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
I'm unable to repro that one.. Can you attach a package with the faulty scene in it?
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

createasaurus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
***EDIT: Wrong attachment, see attachment on next post***

Attached.  Interestingly, when using Finish Event, it's not just the question mark, it's every last letter, will not display.  I only initially noticed the question mark.

This is my first time making a package.  I hope I did it correctly.
1.) take GUI Text object from Hierarchy into Project
2.) right click and export package
3.) Click no dependencies - re-click on typewriter.cs to be the only dependent.

Thanks so much!
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 03:51:10 PM by createasaurus »