playMaker

Author Topic: PlayerPref attempt - need feedback  (Read 2256 times)

jayf

• Playmaker Newbie
PlayerPref attempt - need feedback
« on: January 03, 2015, 10:38:41 PM »
Hi.

So this is my first time trying PlayerPrefs. I want to create a system that unlocks and make things stay unlocked. What I did was save the current Level the player reached (as a Float Variable) and converted it into a String called str_Level_Nr.

Which then gets saved into a Float Variable called "pp_Level_Nr". I was hoping the level gets saved as a PlayerPref somehow, so the icons which are supposed to get unlocked, can constantly check pp_Level_Nr and remain "open". Example: If pp_Level_Nr = 4 then unlock icons.
They do unlock after the player reaches a certain level but after some time, the icons go back to being locked. So apparently, things don't get saved. Am I doing things correctly?

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: PlayerPref attempt - need feedback
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2015, 11:22:33 PM »
in the playerprefs action :

key = the file name where it will be saved.
so in your setup you are saving the variable as a playerprefs name

in "set int" and "get int" :
change the key and give it a name (LevelReached for example),
in the value set the variable that holds the current level.
use int instead of float, unless you use levels like this :1.2, 1.3

then you need to use a int compare that will check if you current level is higher than the 1 saved in playerprefs. else it will overwrite it.

if you want to see what is going on whit your playerprefs variables, there are several playerprefs viewers/editors in the asset store

jayf

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 07:05:18 AM »
Hi djaydino.

Thanks for the reply. I tried out your suggestion and it seems to work fine. I can unlock something after reaching a certain level. However after a couple of hours or so, the stuff that's supposed to be unlocked is gone.