playMaker

Author Topic: Collision info contact normal  (Read 3143 times)

Thomas Lilja

• Playmaker Newbie
Collision info contact normal
« on: January 31, 2015, 10:35:57 AM »
Hi guys,
I'm completely new with playmaker so this might be a very trivial question. I'm spawning an object with force that collides with a surface. On collision i want to spawn an effect that is aligned with the surface normal. According to the wiki, "get collision info"'s contact normal is what i need, but it doesn't seem to do anything. I guess it's not as easy as Unity using quaternion and i need to convert to euler for playmaker to recognize? 

Thanks!

boragungor

• Playmaker Newbie
  • Who really wrote Beethoven's music to begin with?
Re: Collision info contact normal
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 11:18:43 AM »
Hi,

Did you try by assigning an empty gameobject as a spawn point ?

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2015, 01:09:17 PM »
You're getting the direction that the face is looking, its not the same as a rotation. It's not going to do what you want.

Maybe try Smooth Look At Direction? Off the top of my head I'm not sure if there is a better solution for this that is as simple as that.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

SeanC

• Junior Playmaker
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2015, 05:17:23 PM »
Hi Thomas,

You're on the right track! I use this system to create footprints for my characters. First, store the normal, like you are doing. Then just feed that normal into this custom action:

RotateToDirection

Easy!

SeanC

Thomas Lilja

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2015, 12:07:24 AM »
Thanks a lot for the quick reply Sean!

I still don't get any rotation. Maybe i'm applying it to the wrong object somehow?