playMaker

Author Topic: 2D Top Down "Platforming" (jumping and landing)  (Read 9473 times)

fishfood

• Playmaker Newbie
2D Top Down "Platforming" (jumping and landing)
« on: August 25, 2015, 08:58:55 PM »
Hi,

Just a brief intro, I've been making non commercial games for years, (though non consecutively), and have a few finished projects, so while I'm not totally new to the game creation process, I am new to Unity and can only use scripting languages, if that (C#? Not in this lifetime. I'm really more of an artist who's been forced to wear multiple hats). Having said that, I'm hoping Playmaker will allow me to start moving towards Unity development.

I've taken a few tutorials to get me familiar with the tools (both Playmaker and 2D Toolkit), but the funny (and maybe sad) thing is, I can't find one tutorial for any top down 2D games that aren't scrolling shooters, least of all one that has jumping. And I know this is possible because, well, to get to the point...

I'm looking to prototype a game similar to these:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uvM-vKVgGQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGtgO-jX76A

As of now, all I can do in Unity via Playmaker is have you jump vertically on the Y axis on a horizontal scrolling game, where rigidbodied assets have collision at the very top of the object, and you could fall off the map. But with a game that scrolls vertically downward, I can't exactly have the character fall down the Y axis. I can translate the player object down the Y axis if I disable gravity, but it doesn't look like it's jumping. Plus, it needs to stop dead center in the middle of rocks, which are also sprites. If I have the rigidbody enabled, the player character just sits on top of the sprite as opposed to landing in the middle.