playMaker

Author Topic: Global Variables import  (Read 731 times)

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2252
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Global Variables import
« on: June 14, 2016, 11:26:40 AM »
Hi,
I exported my globals and then i tested on another project to import then.

when i export it makes this : PlayMakerGlobals.unitypackage

Then when i use that with import globals it says "no globals to import"
and places the PlaymakerGlobals_EXPORTED.asset in the root of the project

Then when i go to import again and go to the folder with PlaymakerGlobals_EXPORTED in it i can not see it by default.
i have to change the extension to all files (*.*)
then i can select it and when i import it,
then it works after reloading the scene

I don't think that this the way it is supposed to be :D

Alex Chouls

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3201
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
    • LinkedIn
Re: Global Variables import
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 12:24:33 PM »
Exporting/Importing globals changed in 1.8.1. The whole PlaymakerGlobals_EXPORTED.asset workflow was confusing. That file should no longer be exported/imported.

Now Export Globals should let you export a unitypackage, and Import Globals should open a file dialog so you can choose a unitypackage you exported previously to import and merge.

Is that not what you're seeing?
Maybe you're mixing old and new workflow...?
Where are you running Export/Import from (it's in a few places in the UI)?


djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2252
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Global Variables import
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 03:52:56 PM »
Hi,

i made a video showing what i did :