playMaker

Author Topic: Trying to make a combat 3D Platformer, having a lot of trouble  (Read 2326 times)

SpookyGeck

• Playmaker Newbie
Trying to make a combat 3D Platformer, having a lot of trouble
« on: December 25, 2016, 03:34:09 PM »
Hi. I'm still a beginner with playmaker and I'm trying to get started on an action-oriented 3D platformer.

The player character is not humanoid and doesn't use rootmotion so I set them on controller simple move but there's a few problems

When the player is running left and starts to run right, the model clips horrendously.

And I have no idea how to approach the jumping at all. The player's jump translates them into the air but they're still able to continuously jump and I don't know how to restrict this. The entire landing animation activates once the player hits the ground when I want it to activate once the player begins falling

I'm sure this all sounds like a lot of rookie mistakes

I can send a build to anyone willing to help. this is really frustrating.

mdotstrange

• Can't code? Who cares! Make games anyway!
Re: Trying to make a combat 3D Platformer, having a lot of trouble
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2016, 09:57:05 AM »
By "clip" do you mean they go through the geometry?

For jumping- since you are using simple move that means you're using a character controller- there are actions for the character controller that check if its grounded- so before you allow the character to jump check to make sure its grounded first-

You can also add a trigger collider to the feet and make sure that is hitting the ground using TriggerEnter and/or Trigger stay-

You can also fire a ray/spherecast towards the ground from the characters hips and only allow jumps when it hits the ground-

So whatever technique you use you want to add a bool test before jumping to see if the character is grounded-

I've been working on an action 3d platformer for some time now and yes, its quite a challenge!