playMaker

Author Topic: Import or Export Globals doesn't work [SOLVED]  (Read 326 times)

Marc Saubion

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Import or Export Globals doesn't work [SOLVED]
« on: July 13, 2017, 12:05:52 AM »
This is as simple as it gets: I try to export globals from a project to an other an get a message that there are no globals to import. I don't know if the issue is from the importer or exporter so I joined my "PlayMakerGlobals" file.

I had the issue with many project so I think I can rule out something from my computers.

Thanks for taking a look at it.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2017, 08:04:55 AM by Alex Chouls »

tcmeric

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2017, 04:19:40 AM »
Hi Marc. Which version of playmaker and unity are you using?

Marc Saubion

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2017, 05:00:10 AM »
The last I guess: 1.8.4.f5

It is the same on both projects.

tcmeric

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2017, 05:27:04 AM »
Thanks. Which version of Unity? Knowing this will help it be tested to see if there is a global issue with the export, or if it is somehow related to your setup. Can you open a new project, create a global and export it?

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2247
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2017, 05:31:17 AM »
Hi,
The export seems ok.

Before you import, create a global variable on the new project
and then import.

some of the variables i got are EMAILSENDER / MUSIC / PLAY.... and so on (9 in total)

Let me know if it worked

tcmeric

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2017, 05:43:32 AM »
I didnt see his attachment there. Can confirm, I cannot import my own globals or the OPs into my project, using unity 2017.1 and playmaker verison 1.8.4.f5. Clean scene, 3d, only playmaker and a cube.

(With or without creating my own globals first, before importing).

I get the prompt "No globals to import" plus

The following error.

Failed to import package with error: Couldn't decompress package
UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:ImportPackage(String, Boolean)
HutongGames.PlayMakerEditor.GlobalsAsset:Import() (at c:/Users/Alex/Documents/Unity/Playmaker/Projects/Playmaker.source.unity/Assets/PlayMaker/Editor/Classes/ActionScripts.cs:125)
PlayMakerMainMenu:ImportGlobals() (at Assets/PlayMaker/Editor/PlayMakerMainMenu.cs:215)

Importing Globals...
UnityEngine.Debug:Log(Object)
HutongGames.PlayMakerEditor.GlobalsAsset:DoImport() (at c:/Users/Alex/Documents/Unity/Playmaker/Projects/Playmaker.source.unity/Assets/PlayMaker/Editor/Classes/ActionScripts.cs:139)
UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()

« Last Edit: July 13, 2017, 05:47:47 AM by tcmeric »

Marc Saubion

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2017, 06:56:18 AM »
I'm on Unity 5.6.2f1.

@ djaydino, it looks like you have my global variables, so the export is working.

I tried importing with a created global in the project and I still have the same issue.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2247
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2017, 07:02:56 AM »
Hi,
I will make a video tomorrow so you can follow what i did.

Marc Saubion

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2017, 07:41:04 AM »
Alright, I'll check that tomorrow.

Thanks.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2247
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2017, 12:21:40 AM »
Hi,
Here's the video :)


Marc Saubion

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Import or Export Globals doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2017, 12:34:42 AM »
Hey djaydino.

Sorry I didn't answer sooner, I couldn't watch the video because I was on mobile data this weekend.

I tried it and it works. I don't know why since that's what failed last time as far as I can remember.

I'll keep the forum updated if I re-encounter the issue.  ;)

Thanks