playMaker

Author Topic: Continuous flying  (Read 2918 times)

jimbob

• Playmaker Newbie
Continuous flying
« on: October 23, 2012, 12:44:40 PM »
I am brand new to PlayMaker, Unity, and the development side but been doing modeling and animation for years.

Sorry for such a newb question, but I've been experimenting with PM and searching the forums and tutorials and can't find the answer. I've seen hundreds of posts on character controllers moving in XZ, but not any for XYZ. I want a flying character that continually moves with the camera attached (following). I've tried creating two FSMs - one with movement on XZ and one with YZ, but that didn't work. I don't want actual gravity as the flight is continuous, but inside a large box with collision as the boundary. Can I also limit the degree of pitch (I don't want the character to ever fly upside down or flip over)?

I know this is such a basic thing but am already stumped.
thanks in advance!

kiriri

Re: Continuous flying
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 01:57:40 PM »
you can google for "mouse look" script for unity. It's the easiest way to achieve what you want. Then for the movement, you can create an FSM with an initial state which contains

1) a get key down action. Get the key W and send the event FINISHED. then in the next state, which follows after the first state FINISHES:
2) use the "translate" action and a "get key up" action. The translate action should work on the "self" space and have a positive value on the z axis. It should work per second and every frame.
then the get key up action should get W again, and send the event FINISHED and return back to the original state.