playMaker

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problems with sending events  (Read 2424 times)

kathode

• Playmaker Newbie
[SOLVED] Problems with sending events
« on: December 29, 2013, 01:49:26 AM »
Hi,
I'm totally new to Playmaker so apologies in advance if I've done something dumb!

I am working on a click-to-move system with multiple characters.  Very similar to FTL if you've played it - click on a character, that character becomes the active character, and responds to your commands.  Any other character becomes "deactivated" and doesn't respond any longer.

I'm attaching a shot of how I have things set up.  The graph in the pic is duplicated for both characters.

When I make a character active, I broadcast a "deactivate character" global event.  However, this event seems to be getting ignored.  If I click on the second character, the first character doesn't deactivate, and they both start moving towards my mouse clicks.  I think I have something set up wrong.  Could anyone let me know?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 02:13:09 PM by kathode »

colpolstudios

Re: Problems with sending events
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2013, 04:30:53 AM »
Hi i am also quite new but your global event is in the original state.

When you click to make the new character active you will always send the "deactivate character" global event.

A better way to do this would Name your FSM "activate player" for example.

Then copy all of the states into a new FSM For your other characters give this a special name.

Then instead use enable FSM to switch off the FSM`S you wish.

bizilux

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2013, 09:23:36 AM »
what colpolstudios said will probably fix it yes... keep things in their own FSM's. you can Add new FSM to selected gameobject

PS: you sure did make a mess in there with that FSM :) arrows gone crazy haha