playMaker

Author Topic: String Typewriter  (Read 26141 times)

AdamJ

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #30 on: April 29, 2015, 05:13:38 PM »
Oh right okay, thanks allot!  :)

AdamJ

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #31 on: April 29, 2015, 06:08:18 PM »
Its working nicely apart from 1 issue. When i type <p=x> It doesn't pause, instead it changes the speed, the same as the <s=x> which is still functioning as intended.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2015, 04:09:21 AM by AdamJ »

Mutajon

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #32 on: November 20, 2015, 11:24:15 AM »
First, a huge thanks for this immensely useful action! 8)

Second, two questions:

1. Can this somehow work with uGui (canvas text)? If so, how?

2. Can someone perhaps help point me in how can I costume change this to work exactly as it does now, only to type the string from the last char to the first one? i.e. typing the string in reverse order?
I tried changing the starting index to 'message.Length' (instead of 0), and then change all the 'index++' to 'index--'. But I get an error in the OnUpdate() that array index is out of range...

Thanks a ton to anyone who can help!  :)


Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #33 on: November 20, 2015, 12:24:16 PM »
Hmm..  I think it would be best if you gave it a reversed string instead of rewriting the whole typewriter to invert its process.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

Mutajon

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #34 on: November 21, 2015, 06:40:34 AM »
Hmmm... But I want the string to be normal at the end of the process. So something like this (each row here represents adding the next char to the string, just from end to beginning):
!
P!
OP!
TOP!
STOP!

But if I reverse the string I'll get !POTS instead of STOP!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2015, 10:14:52 AM by Mutajon »

phannDOTde

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • Peter Hann .de
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #35 on: November 21, 2015, 07:13:27 AM »
Probably you need to reverse it twice - once before putting it into the typewriter and then again the output String created by the typewriter?

Just

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #36 on: June 07, 2016, 06:19:53 AM »
Thank you for this, it works fine for me! Expect it seems I can't to change position of text, it always print out for upper left corner. Am I missing something really obvious to change position?

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2511
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #37 on: June 08, 2016, 01:06:24 PM »
It outputs a string, you need to configure whatever text component you're sending it to to look like you want.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

Just

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #38 on: June 08, 2016, 04:54:39 PM »
Thank you, I got it now working! Silly enough, I used GUIlayout instead of GUI which is why I couldn't change position.

Alatriste

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #39 on: August 16, 2017, 01:00:26 PM »
Hi,

I'm using the String Typewriter effect to write some texts in a iGUI text box. However what happens many times is that the words close to the limit of the border of the box get cut and jump to the next line. The effect is not nice and I was wondering whether there is away to improve it.

For instance, if I write a sentence. "Hello, This is a test" but the text box is smaller than the whole text, what happens is that I'll see this: "Hello, This is a te" in the line, and right after "Hello, This is a (in the first line) test (in the second line).

Does it make sense? "Test" will start writing in the first line, but because there is not enough space, it will jump to the second line.

Edit: I have been investigating and aparently there is a script that makes something similar in the templates of TextMeshPro. Is there anyway to implement it to the existing Typewriter effect?

FractalCore

  • 1.2 Beta
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 100
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #40 on: October 10, 2017, 11:10:44 PM »
I came across this problem recently too.

A lot of RPG/adventure games have the dialog display in this manner, rather than just all appearing at once.

I guess it makes it feel more like a non-voiced character is actually saying it.

If anyone has a way to fix it for this action would be great.

Gustav

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: String Typewriter
« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2017, 03:19:20 PM »
Everyone looking for a solution have a look at the corresponding threads:

String Typewriter - Cutting words

Typewriter Textmesh Pro without cutting words