playMaker

Author Topic: Calculator with Playmaker  (Read 3489 times)

Andrew

• Playmaker Newbie
Calculator with Playmaker
« on: September 05, 2016, 04:37:36 AM »
Playmaker newbie here!

I'm trying to make a sort of calculator using Playmaker. I'm sure it is possible, but I can't seem to get even multiplying working..

I can't seem to get anything to output as a string. I've set up 'Width' and 'Length' Global Int Variables, used Int Operator and set Integer 1 as 'Width' and Integer 2 as 'Length', then set to multiply and store the result in another Global Int Variable called 'AreaResult'.

I then set up an Int to String converter which I convert 'AreaResult' to Global String Variable 'AreaString'.

Lastly I drag the 'Text' of which I was the string displayed on into the State and Set Property to Text > String and the Set Value to 'AreaString' variable.

I think this is all right, but I think it just doesn't get the values from 'Length' or 'Width' to calculate. For the user input I have added 'InputField' UI in the Canvas, and added 'Set Int Value' and selected 'Width' and 'Length' for each one and left the Value as '0' as I thought the user would be able to determine this.. But this is where I am stuck.. and I know I must be doing something wrong, or using the wrong Action.

How can I get the user to enter the Int Value so it can be stored in a variable to then be calculated? Do I need an Update state?

Thanks, I appreciate any help with this!  ;D

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Calculator with Playmaker
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2016, 04:40:59 AM »
Hi,

that's a good questions and something I'll turn into a sample for the Ecosystem.

Can you give me this week so that I can work on it? You'll then have a fully working example to demonstrate this.

Meanwhile, I'll explain the principle so that you can keep at it ( solving design patterns your self is always better for learning :) )