playMaker

Author Topic: Need Some Help With Animations (IM NEW)  (Read 1819 times)

SinistarPlays

• Playmaker Newbie
Need Some Help With Animations (IM NEW)
« on: June 01, 2020, 10:41:52 PM »
Hey all,

So I'm new to unity, coding, and only just purchased PlayMaker yesterday -- after seeing how it looked quite simple compared to learning C# through YouTube tutorials and the promise of actually getting somewhere as wannabe solo developer.

Anyways, I acquired this purchased asset for a game I'd like to make as a first project that will probably be a 2D scroller of sorts, and the asset is titled "Character Creator 2D" which comes with their own set of animations once you create a character using this asset, giving you options to save the character as a prefab, json or png but I save the file as a prefab.

And mind you, when you completed and saved the character; it literally comes with multiple animated attack animations, idles, walking, jumping, tons of weapon attacks, running, tons more of variety.

So the question is how do I make these work now? I mean, I just want to understand as if I'm a toddler how to put them to work in the PlayMaker. To be able to string these already animated functions to work so I can actually move the character from A to B as a starting point.

Asset in question:
https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/2d/characters/character-creator-2d-111398

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Need Some Help With Animations (IM NEW)
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2020, 01:47:10 AM »
Hi and welcome!

I think you will need to learn Animator:  https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Animator.html

with this, you will be able to animate your 2d character, but first double check with the author of this asset you purchased, to check if he has a demo on these character being controlled by an animator controller.

Bye,

Jean

SinistarPlays

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 08:17:55 AM »
Hey Jean thanks for the reply,