playMaker

Author Topic: Playmaker - Programmer workflow  (Read 5873 times)

TBN

• Playmaker Newbie
Playmaker - Programmer workflow
« on: August 28, 2015, 02:16:09 AM »
Hi,

I am new to Playmaker, been testing it for about a week. I am a decent programmer and well versed in C#, what I found is Playmaker is slowing me down.. it is so much easier if I just code it instead of using Playmaker.

So what value does Playmaker adds to a programmer? All resources I found on the internet is about visual programming, which I find absurd... I could code those things at the fraction of the time... not to mention that I have to scour the internet for the Actions needed to accomplish tasks that I could have done in code myself.

I am interested to hear from programmer's perspective here...

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Playmaker - Programmer workflow
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2015, 05:00:20 AM »
Hi,

That's a great question. Let me try to explain why I still use PlayMaker on *all* my projects, even tho, like you, I could do it all without PlayMaker because I can code. I would go further and mention that actually, I will write the proper bridges, proxies and custom actions for a given asset so that I can work with it within PlayMaker, so I am ready to actually do that bridges and spend time doing it instead of just do it by code, because I know the value I am getting out of this initial boiler plate work for PlayMaker.

First of all, PlayMaker is a tool, and like all tools, you decide wether it should be in your toolbox or not, and sometimes it's adequate for the job, sometimes it's not, so it's totally ok that you feel it doesn't help you being more productive or that it brings something on the table that benefits you.

Having said that, here few points that I think should be very carefully considered if you are questioning the usefulness of PlayMaker.