playMaker

Author Topic: Best top scores  (Read 6987 times)

ed

• Playmaker Newbie
Best top scores
« on: March 13, 2012, 08:32:31 AM »
I am very new to Unity and Playmaker, I make my bread and butter from visualization presentations where I find that Playmaker truly brings the shine to Unity, so I would like to stick with it when possible . 

I was trying in vain to make a simple  score board where data is stored locally but my lack of logic and knowledge of both unity and Playmaker has hit me like a cold wet brick wall, are there any tutorials or guides that could help me achieve this in playmaker? Or is there another method that is preferred buy the more savvy users here?

Any help or nudge in the right direction  is appreciated

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Best top scores
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 03:30:26 AM »
Hi,

if I understand, you want to store locally the user's scores. you would first need to learn and work with the playerPrefs system ( which saves locally data).

Or are you already past that?

The thing is, working with lists and arrays in playmaker is not built in so you need to hack it a bit, which makes it already an advanced feature to implement I am afraid...

Several ways out of it.

1:you maintain a simple text file that you present as is, each line showing a score.

2: more complex: implement a user pref key per score ( "score_12","score_13"), etc)

you also store the current score, ( say 13).

you then append a new score ( save it in user pref as "score_14" and save the new current score: 14).
 you only want to store say 10 scores, so every time you add a new score you also delete from the user pref the oldest score ( 14-11 so that would be score_3)

then in your interface, you have one gui element per score, and you access the user pref like so: currentScore ( "score_14), the second (currentScore-1 ->"score_13").