playMaker

Author Topic: How to re-script things with Playmaker  (Read 2300 times)

morrigan

• Playmaker Newbie
How to re-script things with Playmaker
« on: February 01, 2016, 08:21:43 AM »
Hello there!
I am a game and level designer, and I'm developing a project with C#. I've purchased Playmaker some months ago but never had time to use it. I already have a working menu and events to start my game, exit the application, load levels, pausing, restarting and so on. I've scripted everything in C# because I wanted to learn, but now that my project is more defined I want to use Playmaker to have a neat structure and implement also Easy Save 2.
That said, can you people suggest me a way to start the whole process? Do I have to remove my scripts? At first sight I don't know where to start and I'm tempted to just continue with the traditional way, but I don't want to waste too much time and I feel that my project will have a more solid code with this tool.
Correct me if I am wrong...!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 08:24:13 AM by morrigan »

KellyRay

Re: How to re-script things with Playmaker
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 09:45:52 AM »
I'm a whole-fully terrible coder. I managed to translate some other peoples scripts into playmaker actions in about a day. I started by opening up the other playmaker actions that did similar things to what I wanted and just read them. I started to piece together what words and nuances I needed to know.

To start, I made a duplicate of the playmaker script, stripped it of its guts, and filled it in with the other script. Worked pretty well for me.

I find Playmaker easy to follow. Some coders have said that it's a waste of time. I say you should give it a shot.

Vallar

• Junior Playmaker
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2016, 04:35:59 AM »