playMaker

Author Topic: Replace Missing Action with proper action  (Read 3002 times)

jrDev

• Junior Playmaker
Replace Missing Action with proper action
« on: April 13, 2016, 12:17:29 PM »
Hey guys,

Is there a way to replace the Missing Action with the correct Action that was used before. So I have a custom Action and I changed the name and now all references to that Action is lost and I don't want to have to readd the action with all its values setup already. I tried renaming the Missing Action to see if it would find the correct but that doesn't work.

Any solution to this?

Thanks,
jrDev

Zeldag

Re: Replace Missing Action with proper action
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2016, 07:42:42 AM »
I believe that if you open the action script in explorer, move it to another folder, them rename it and reimport it, it may just put everything back together for you.

Maybe not though as Im a noob and only used custome actions made by others.

Good luck with it.

(edit to add: when you rename scripts make sure you rename the bit that has the title in the beginning of the script too. Lol Its funny that Im saying this as a none scripter but that is one issue I had a lot when renaming/duplicating scripts, back when I tried to script).
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 09:13:37 AM by Zeldag »

Alex Chouls

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • LinkedIn
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2016, 09:01:25 AM »
It's important not to save the scene with Missing Actions.
When a Missing Action is found it shouldn't mark the FSM dirty. But if you make other changes, and then save the FSM, the Missing Action will be saved and you will no longer be able to just replace the missing script to restore the action.

So basically it's important to replace the missing script.
And to use version control with your project so you can revert any unwanted changes!