playMaker

Author Topic: How do you attach a trigger to a moving object?  (Read 4001 times)

ashwhite

• Playmaker Newbie
How do you attach a trigger to a moving object?
« on: April 13, 2016, 04:13:15 PM »
Hi guys,

I'm a newb and currently trying to make a stacking game. The premise is that the user has to stack multiple layers of a low-poly object in order to complete the level. Please see the attachment for reference of the gameplay.

I'm stuck on the best approach for getting the static object to lock with the falling and rotating object. My guess is to use triggers instead of a standard collider as I couldn't work out how to initiate a locked state with the faces lined up exactly.

If triggers are the best route to take here I presume I need to apply a trigger to the face of a static object and also attach one to the face of a falling object somehow but I don't know how to execute that.

I'd really appreciate any help given.

Apologies if my terminology is wrong or unclear. I'm just picking up Unity and Playmaker.

Looking forward to responses :)

Ash

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: How do you attach a trigger to a moving object?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 07:08:36 AM »
Hi,
when you look to your game object in the inspector try to find if there is a collider,
if there is none you can click on "Add component" and look for "collider"

If you have a mesh collider i think it is better to change it to a box collider for your project.

Select the collider.

In the collider component you have check box called "Is Trigger"

Select that one and now your collider is a trigger and not colliding.

You can also make the size a bit bigger or set the position higher from the trigger/collider

you can also use 2 colliders and set one to trigger and set the other as collider.

For your project i think it is best to use triggers

ashwhite

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2016, 10:53:50 AM »
Hi Dino,