playMaker

Author Topic: PlayMaker and Animator  (Read 7117 times)

adriend

• Playmaker Newbie
PlayMaker and Animator
« on: June 11, 2016, 05:34:41 PM »
Hello there,

I am new to PlayMaker and wanted to know if there are any good tutorial, from basic to advanced, on how to setup a controller and using the Unity Animator tool with PlayMaker?

I feel like it is lacking from the Hutong videos that are now pretty old - done before the animator was implemented I believe.

Thanks for your time.

Adrien

adriend

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: PlayMaker and Animator
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2016, 11:11:55 PM »
Small bump?

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 02:33:09 AM »
Hi,

Yes, this is pending. I have a series of animator samples, I need to upgrade to the newest version of PlayMaker, and I'll then do my best to make a video series to explain them.

Meanwhile, if you have questions, let me know, the principles are easy to pick up.

Bye,

Jean

adriend

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2016, 02:16:16 PM »
Hey Jean,

Thanks for the offer. Do you use skype, and if yes, do you mind if we connect?

Cheers,
Adrien

adriend

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2016, 04:22:45 PM »
So, I am very new. I am going to post my actual setup, which I am sure is wrong and am barely starting.

Right now, pressing the "Up" arrow is not playing the Jump animation for some reason.

Please let me know what I am missing. Thanks!

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2016, 03:13:20 AM »
Hi,

you seem to mix legacy animation playback and Animator.

Jumping with Animator shoudl be done using an Animator Parameter ( likely called "jump"), that would be either a boolean or a trigger. then you use "SetAnimatorBool" to raise the boolean or "SetAnimatorTrigger" if a trigger.

does that make sense? so your Animator controller should implement the jump as a state with proper transitions.