playMaker

Author Topic: New to game dev should I use playmaker straight away  (Read 2522 times)

musclynerd

• Playmaker Newbie
New to game dev should I use playmaker straight away
« on: July 05, 2016, 09:16:57 AM »
Hi all,

I have a question for intermediate to advanced game devs and users of playmaker.

I'm new to game dev and programming. I've followed some basic C# courses and currently half way through a unity game design for beginners course. After looking at play maker and additional bundles for playmaker I've seen there is a bundle available that will make the game I'm wanting to create much easier.

My question is should I follow more tutorials before jumping into using playmaker and following play makers tutorials. Or should I just go straight into using playmaker.

I've read a mixture of people saying you don't have to do much coding depending whilst using playmaker whilst others saying it just makes event handling better( I'm new so I may of stated it incorrectly)

Will appreciate any feedback

Thanks.

• Beta Group
    • Flashing Lights
Re: New to game dev should I use playmaker straight away
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2016, 09:26:35 AM »
I say go ahead with the Playmaker! ;D
When I saw the first tutorials I bought it right away, as it matched how I imagined how visual scripting should work.
I have no coding experience and still getting forward with all features I need. Before Playmaker I did try to learn C#, but dropped it pretty fast when I got in this tool. Not saying that you should drop C# tho, you can combine with coding as you progress.

musclynerd

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 10:10:37 AM »
When I saw the first tutorials I bought it right away, as it matched how I imagined how visual scripting should work.