playMaker

Author Topic: New AI action available, Bake at runtime  (Read 2522 times)

Ofonna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
New AI action available, Bake at runtime
« on: October 23, 2017, 01:09:38 AM »
Hi, i just made a different ai action for baking and removing navmesh at runtime, this works with the unity component called (navmesh surface) which is available on github https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/NavMeshComponents,

its easy to implement

1) create an empty game object
2) add the navmesh surface component to it
3)and use the action whenever you want to build

you can also remove the navmesh whenever you please with the remove navmesh action

in the image below i baked a navmesh after pressing the space bar.
hopefully this will be available on the ecosystem soon
« Last Edit: October 23, 2017, 01:55:08 AM by Carmichael »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: New AI action available, Bake at runtime
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 03:01:33 AM »
Hi,

 Have you check DumbGameDev work on runtime navmesh?

http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=15982.msg74415#msg74415

maybe you can combine your effort, that would be great :)

 Bye,

Jean

craigz

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 234
    • Haven Made
Re: New AI action available, Bake at runtime
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2018, 06:16:18 PM »
Hey friends!

Sorry to thread necro :) wanted to see if there were possibly any other Nav Mesh Surface actions that had been made? These are SUPER useful for generating navmesh/updating at runtime using the NavMeshSurface component as opposed to the Local NavMesh Builder.

Based off this documentation-

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/AI.NavMeshBuilder.html

The NavMeshSurface component is super useful for prebaked (then updated) data, here's a modified version of Ofonna's action I made to update navmesh asset data or leave blank to get the one from the target gameobjects surface :)

*Also worth noting, if you do choose to navigate and update a navmesh asset in your project folder, any updates you do to it will be saved, so be sure to either do some sort of initialization bake or there's probably some way to get an instance of it xD

-craigz
« Last Edit: July 05, 2018, 09:40:03 PM by craigz »