playMaker

Author Topic: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?  (Read 1422 times)

westingtyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • My Video Game Projects Web Site
is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« on: July 12, 2018, 11:18:02 AM »
i named a variable "item_take/swap" to represent a button that could end up doing either.

then when i went to find this game object variable, I saw it had created a sub-menu where the variable swap was stored under item_take.

is it safe to name fsm variables this way, to more easily sort them into folders within the fsm? can they be GET and SET from other fsms and game objects correctly? I've always just had a giant list of variables to scan through to do anything, and if this is a valid thing to do, I'll save a crapton of tedium from now on by naming them this way.

are there any downsides to doing this?

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2018, 02:42:33 PM »
Hi.
yes this makes sub menu which can be handy to find objects by making certain groups with it.
and should work fine :)

MajorIdea

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2018, 02:55:23 PM »
Yep, I use it often to make things better organized.

westingtyler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • My Video Game Projects Web Site
Re: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2018, 11:47:04 PM »
wow, yeah, that will be handy.

does anyone know how to get around the fact that an fsm becomes laggier the bigger it gets? i have an fsm that contains button commands for all the ui menus, and it's laggy as balls.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2018, 09:23:01 AM »
Hi.

Try splitting it up into multiple fsms.
Also if you have a state connecting to 5+ states try converting this by using arrays.

In the Preferences tab (bottom left in the editor) there are some settings that can help.
For example in 'General' turn off the 'UI Animation FX'
And in 'Error Checking' Disable 'Real-Time Error Checker'

Hover over the options to see the info on them.

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7615
    • jinxtergames
Re: is it safe to use \ or / in fsm variable names?
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2018, 11:47:54 AM »
Hi.
I made a quick video on how i split up a fsm :