playMaker

Author Topic: Question about activate objects  (Read 2556 times)

cleave

• Playmaker Newbie
Question about activate objects
« on: September 05, 2018, 05:17:48 PM »
I am working on my avatar system. Simply, I set strings on character fsm, then switch strings to send which weapon is going to be activated or mesh enabled.

Here is the issue.

It would be fine if there is only 3 to 5 characters in rpg game. But I cannot do this if there are hundred of characters need to switch weapons in RTT/RTS games. Because it is impossible to drag object thousand times from Hierarchy to playmaker editor state or make hundred switch events to decide which character or weapon is the one I want.

Is there any actions could help this from Ecosystem?

I am new to playmaker. Actually I am looking for actions that could help me switch general objects or objects that created after Scene start. many of my fsm cannot reuse just because of there are lots of specific objects are from Hierarchy.

So any solution on this? Thanks a lot.

Doh

Re: Question about activate objects
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 06:39:17 PM »
Could you not just set up a prefab of an avatar with all of the potential equipment and your FSM attached, then use a pooling system to hold the maximum number of avatars, then when one should be spawned pull it from the pool?

You'd only need to set up the avatar once.

You could also store all of the objects that need to be toggled on and off in an array, then you only need to find the correct index to pull up the correct item rather than converting strings etc.

Lets say you have a sword at the 4th slot of an array and the way you select the weapon is by clicking a GUI element, you could set it up so when the button is clicked it sets an integer on the highlighted avatar to "3" (the 4th item in the array) and then sends an event to that same avatar that makes it enter a state that gets that integer and applies it as the current item.