playMaker

Author Topic: Detect when a character is on the ground.  (Read 2521 times)

TriggerDex

• Playmaker Newbie
Detect when a character is on the ground.
« on: June 07, 2019, 10:38:40 PM »
Hi, a couple days ago I got Playmaker and I've been trying to make a 2D platformer. So far it's a great tool since I'm not good at coding, thanks Erin!

Ok, the problem is the following, I've been using a Raycast to detect when my character is on the ground and it worked pretty well until I tried to add some animations when the character falls from a platform by running. Also, when the character moves to the edge of a platform they raycast won't work as intended, check the attachment to see what I mean, the character is technically on the platform but the Raycast function I used won't detect it and some things stop working.
Here's a gif showing what I mean: https://imgur.com/a/dkbpc33

Is there a better way to detect when a character is on the ground?
Thank you.

DanielThomas

• Beta Group
Re: Detect when a character is on the ground.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2019, 07:23:09 AM »
From what I know using a lot(in moderation) of raycasts is the way to go. You would probably want to add atleast two raycasts for the check you mention, one in each end/side of the collider.

I only skimmed through, but maybe this can help: https://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/YoannPignole/20131010/202080/The_hobbyist_coder_1_2D_platformer_controller.php
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 07:25:56 AM by DanielThomas »

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 07:49:05 AM »
Hi.
I usually start with 3 raycasts downwards and use bool any true, which then also set a bool.

Then i use fsm bool test (on Ecosystem) to see if ground or not, on other fsms.

Thore

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2019, 10:17:55 AM »