playMaker

Author Topic: Get an array from his name ?  (Read 436 times)

blackant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 456
  • http://blackantmaster.com
    • View Profile
    • blackantmaster.com
Get an array from his name ?
« on: September 17, 2019, 07:49:43 AM »
Hello,

i'm trying to make a system in witch, after taking the application system language used, i build a string using the 2 firts characters and the rest will be the name of the array.

like for exemple:
Fr_UI_Txts
En_UI_Txts
and so on...

but by using this logic i can't achieve the process because playmaker doesn't allow to select an array from a string variable...

so, is there any other good way to get it to work ?

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5795
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get an array from his name ?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2019, 08:01:43 AM »
Hi.
Yes! you should use 'Array Maker'
as it uses reference you can reference which array you want to look into.

If you have lots of text, another way i would suggest is using xml and Data Maker.

blackant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 456
  • http://blackantmaster.com
    • View Profile
    • blackantmaster.com
Re: Get an array from his name ?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2019, 09:00:57 AM »
yes, i'm already using datamaker,
thanks it's perfect !

djaydino

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5795
    • View Profile
    • jinxtergames
Re: Get an array from his name ?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2019, 10:34:04 AM »
Hi.
Lately i am using xml (datamaker) in combination with hashtables (created @ runtime)

As xml is a bit slow to use during game play.

I am planning to make a Tutorial video for it (hopefully this weekend)