playMaker

Author Topic: How do I create collectable objects?  (Read 1809 times)

mertti

• Playmaker Newbie
How do I create collectable objects?
« on: June 09, 2020, 07:01:06 PM »
Hi,

I need collectable objects like coins to my game. The coin can be collected only once, so if player collects the coin and saves the game it should be disappeared next time when he returns to the game.

I got it to work with a single coin but when I duplicate coin objects all disappear when returning to the game.

I am new with the unity and playmake. Any suggestions how to get it work?

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: How do I create collectable objects?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2020, 01:38:19 AM »
Hi,

you need some data management on top of your actual logic in game for collectables.

each collectables should have a unique ID, and in your data ( player prefs most likely), you will save the current state of that ID, likely a simple flag saying it's been picked up.

when you are about to instantiate a collectable with a given ID, you must first check against your data if you should show it or not, that's key when you load a level or restart a level.

Bye,

Jean

mertti

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2020, 04:18:57 AM »
Hi,

How do I set up unique for each collectable ID?
How do I set up data management?

Could you please help me? I am new in this :)

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2020, 06:10:22 AM »
Hi.
For each type you can have a ID

For example :
Bronze coins id : 1
Silver coins id : 2
Gold coins id : 3
Special Token id : 100
(these should be saved and be accessible)

on your collect-able, create a fsm and call it 'Data'

When player click to pick up, Get the 'id' variable then you can do pick up and add to a stack or something else depending on the item (for example a health pot could give health)