playMaker

Author Topic: animator and movement  (Read 985 times)

katanant

• Playmaker Newbie
animator and movement
« on: June 21, 2023, 03:58:13 AM »
Hello, I have a problem, I'm doing several tests in unity, following some tutorials I created a character whose movement logics are in an empty parent object called player simply including the character controller, now ... everything works fine except one thing, i have an animation of vaulting over an obstacle...this animation runs just right and everything seems to be where it should be....the problem is that actually the character controller collider and all its elements don't follow the movement of the animation while remaining distant ... so I tried to do several tests ... through actions by checking the position with get position ... of each object and even of the animator and although visually it seems to move in reality the positions do not change, I apologize if I was not clear but I'm a total beginner and I hope I have made the idea...

I noticed that if I do everything on the same gameobject without using a parent for the logic everything works correctly and even through the animation editor I can easily modify the collider according to the animations of my character ... but in this specific case I would like to know how I can do....thank you very much
« Last Edit: June 21, 2023, 04:03:02 AM by katanant »

djaydino

• Administrator
    • jinxtergames
Re: animator and movement
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2023, 06:38:14 AM »
Hi.
Having all on 1 object is probably the main issue.

I don't use character controller as i make my own (also I am in 2D).
My controls are root (using velocity for movement) , and animations as a child.
in animator have a float parameter for move speed and I use Get velocity and Set Animator Float.

Then I have the float parameter connected to handle animation speed / Idle / Walk / Run

katanant

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2023, 03:12:05 PM »