playMaker

Author Topic: PlayMakerGlobal.asset and AssetBundles  (Read 1877 times)

mental.breakdance

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
PlayMakerGlobal.asset and AssetBundles
« on: January 09, 2013, 08:52:56 PM »
Hi,

Have recently purchased PlayMaker and wondering if it will be possible to use in a specific setup.

We're looking to have multiple asset bundles loaded in when required during runtime, each with a custom FSM on, specific in functionality to the objects within that bundle. This seems fine until it comes to the "PlayMakerGlobal" asset in the Resources folder, which would (in our scenario) only need to be "global" to the individual bundles, not the main project.

In other words, can we bundle the asset files, scope them to something less than the entire project, or is there an alternative approach that can be taken?

Thanks,

Rob
« Last Edit: January 10, 2013, 05:05:42 PM by mental.breakdance »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14595
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
Re: PlayMakerGlobal.asset, Transition.asset and AssetBundles
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 01:26:08 AM »
hi,

 I am not sure it's possible, but would love to see if this is possible too.

bye,

 Jean

Alex Chouls

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3632
  • Official Playmaker Support
    • View Profile
    • LinkedIn
Re: PlayMakerGlobal.asset and AssetBundles
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 09:34:25 AM »
This would be tricky to do right now.

You could use a PlayMakerFSM as a variable container and use Get/Set FSM Variable actions to share variables. But this is not nearly as convenient as globals...

I think what's needed is some kind of FsmVariablesComponent that can be referenced by FSMs.

I'll try to get this into the 1.5.x updates...

mental.breakdance

  • Playmaker Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PlayMakerGlobal.asset and AssetBundles
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2013, 05:51:08 PM »
Oh that would be great if it could get implemented! Thanks Alex :)