playMaker

Author Topic: Need help Importing Animation From maya with FSMs[SOLVED]  (Read 3387 times)

jasperPT

• I am a VFX Animator teaching myself to make games
Need help Importing Animation From maya with FSMs[SOLVED]
« on: May 05, 2013, 08:47:18 AM »
Hello all,
I am a little new to unity and playmaker however spending as much time trying to learn as possible.
I am having an issue trying to replicate the work done in this playmaker tutorial :
I can get it to work perfectly fine with the default constructor that comes with Unity, however when I try to do it with my own character it does not work.

I will step you through the process i take so that hopefully somone will spot something completely obvious that I am doing wrong.

1. I export my character and animation out of Maya as an FBX file.
I have a rig constructed that uses no referencing and has bones that get baked out into the fbx so there are no constraints or anything in my export, just geometry + animated bones (image 01)

2. I drag the exported file into my Unity Project, and use the inspector to cut up my clips in unity (image 02) I have "Idle" and "Walk" for this test.

These clips seem to have imported fine, as they play in my inspector when i select them.

3. I drag this FBX file from the Inspector to the hierarchy, and add an "Animations" component to it, then drag the "Idle" and "Walk" animation clips into the correct places for the Animations Component. (I just copied how it was layed out on the Constructor)

Now I setup my FSM with what is seemingly the same setup as the tutorial posted above, however nothing happens when I hit play on my scene. (Image 03)

However, when I setup an animation controller with these clips (the unity one, not in an FSM) they seem to play on my character, but will not be controlled by the FSM.

Any help would be very much appreciated, I have spent 2 days now trying to find a solution to this with various rigs, exports and countless online tutorials.

Cheers.