playMaker

Author Topic: Read/Write variable from a custom component/script via Playmaker  (Read 5720 times)

macish

• Playmaker Newbie
Hi

I'm a complete noob when it comes to Unity and Playmaker and i've read a couple threads about similar (or exact the same?) question.

im trying to create cardgame and created a script that contains variables to be attached as a component to the cards game objects.

i want to be able to read and write thoose 2 variables (bools)

i've read this thread http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=1143.0

but still have some trouble to grasp the logical concept behind it.

what i have is this

Code: [Select]
using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;
using HutongGames.PlayMaker;

public class CardAttribute : MonoBehaviour {

public bool IsInPlay;
public bool IsInHand;

void Start ()
    {

}

void Update ()
    {

}

}

this script is attached to my all my card gameobjects as a component

from the other thread

Hi,

First you need to have a reference to the fsm component in your script

declare a public var:

public PlayMakerFSM theFsm;

this is the first step i don't understand (in general too much samey fsm called variables here ;) )

how does this work with 2 or more variables? it references what exactly? (sorry for silly questions hehe)

then this

Sorry, I was doing too much in one line, here how it goes:

FsmString myFsmString = theFsm.FsmVariables.GetFsmString("My string var");

myFsmString.Value = "Hello";

GetFsmBool() actually return the Fsm variable, not that value it contains, the value it contains is then accessed by .Value, that you can set or get.

so this means

playmaker needs a reference to the custom class? "theFsm"

and inside the Script you define playmaker fsm variables and give the "normal" variables values over to thoose playmaker fsm variables.

? right? wrong? (probably hehe)

then what action would be used to read/write thoose properties from several gameobjects?

any help would be appreciated