playMaker

Author Topic: Using Playmaker with Mecanim (need basic help)  (Read 14412 times)

jasperPT

• I am a VFX Animator teaching myself to make games
Using Playmaker with Mecanim (need basic help)
« on: May 16, 2013, 12:57:39 PM »
So for the past week or so I have been trying to figure out how to use Mecanim to no avail.

After going through all the playmaker tutorials, some mecanim tutorials on the unity site and various forum posts I have learned a lot about both, but cant seem to get this to work.
I have read all the unity documentation and understand how it is supposed to work, but getting it to work with playmaker is doing my head in.

All I am trying to get to work is a simple character that goes from an idle animation to a walk animation when i tell it to move around, there seems to be no basic tutorials on using playmaker to input numbers into mecanim anywhere, so i would love it if someone could point me in the right direction or give me a clue. (there probably is some but i have just missed them)

I have the playmaker mecanim scripts installed into unity and everything is up to date.

I have attached an image that should explain my simple setup, it has all the information in my scene there.

When i hit play i can see my idle animation working, and my character moves around fine, but now i want to know how to get playmaker to set the parameter of "MovementSpeed" on my Animator while i am moving my character around.

I hope that makes sense, I know this is something extremely basic but I have been banging my head against it for a while now, and looked for forum posts relating to it however everything i come across is to do with more in depth problems and I'm just trying to get over this little bump.

Any help is much appreciated!
« Last Edit: May 16, 2013, 02:36:58 PM by jasperPT »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Using Playmaker with Mecanim (need basic help)
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 02:36:33 PM »
Hi,