playMaker

Author Topic: Playmaker inventory question  (Read 2202 times)

TonkRogerio

• Playmaker Newbie
Playmaker inventory question
« on: May 17, 2013, 10:51:45 AM »
I am rather new to playmkaer. I have been working with it for only about 2 weeks. I am also not a programmer, far from it. But I do understand programming logic, so it isn't as if I'm going into this with no knowledge at all.

My question is:-

What would be the best way of creating an item that can be upgradeable?
If you remember final fantasy 7's materia system, then you will know what I mean.

I want a sword to be able to be customized with modules that will stay with the sword until removed or swapped for other modules. I know how to do this in a complicated fashion of just having a heck of a load of transitions on the sword and changing the variables depending on what module is placed on a certain slot, but I am wondering if there isn't a simpler way.

I thought of adding children (modules) to the parent (Sword). So I would create the modules as prefabs and summon them in game when a player places a module on the upgrade screen. This would be my favorite way but I am not sure how to do this. I would know how to do it, but I wouldn't know how to make the children affect the variables of the parent.

Another way I thought would be to use a database. I am not even sure how I would do this do. I wouldn't know which database to buy from the unity asset store or how it would integrate with playmaker.

Any help on this will be welcome. Please keep in mind that I can't program though.

Thank you for your time and I hope you can help me.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 10:59:10 AM by TonkRogerio »

Rhyuzaky

• Playmaker Newbie
Re: Playmaker inventory question
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2015, 02:46:09 PM »
Face, and a half hours Most'll try to answer.
I'd say the easiest way to do this and with a state per slot.