playMaker

Author Topic: Sports AI  (Read 5063 times)

TifaOng

• Playmaker Newbie
Sports AI
« on: November 29, 2013, 04:11:12 AM »
I am very new to PlayMaker, and I am wondering if PlayMaker can make Sports AI, such as football AI. If yes, can you please share your idea on what kind of FSMs should I use?

An overview of the football game, 2 players and 1 goalkeeper. AI needs to pass and shoot the ball to the goal. This is an iOS app, so it uses touch screens to move players.

Thanks a lot. I really appreciate if you can help me because this is very urgent for my project.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 04:22:58 AM by TifaOng »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Sports AI
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2013, 05:17:27 AM »
Hi,

Yes, PlayMaker can do this, but if you are new to PlayMaker and Unity, I would suggest you take the tie to learn it properly, because this kind of AI is quite something to design actually, Playmaker will make it a lot easier to implement, but you will still need to come up with the idea and implementation.

Typically, I would approach such problem doing the following. I would give much AI responsability to the ball itself, the ball would scan for which player is the closest to the goal which is closest to me and make decision based on this to call a player to pick the ball and kick it into the direction of the other or the goal.

In all cases, this will be very much experimental and a trial error process. do you have alread some documentation on footbal AI technics and tricks? I would start here.

Bye,

Jean

TifaOng

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2013, 09:01:40 PM »
Hi Jean,

I am fairly experienced in Unity with scripting and now learning to use PlayMaker.
I also wanted to know how to use scripting with PlayMaker, so far the tutorials I have watched do not touch scripting. I already have custom actions for kick,pass and dribble.