playMaker

Author Topic: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player  (Read 12344 times)

lioncirth

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2013, 04:38:59 PM »
Hey

Its a lot to ask but is there anyway you could go into detail about setting the initial spawn point, setting up the checkpoint and then moving the player to the check point?

I have tried using itween move, move towards, translate and none of these seem to move the player.

I dont know if I am making a simple mistake  or got it all wrong lol

lioncirth

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player
« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2013, 04:23:23 AM »
I have tried to do the following and I get some results but not the desired ones.

I have created a game object and used Get Owner and set it to PlayerSpawnPoint.

On the health FSM when the player reaches 0 Health I use "Get Position" and select "PlayerSpawnPoint"

I then store the XYZ into variables, after that action I then use "Set Position" and select my player.

What happens is the player spawns at the Y value of the SpawnPoint but the X and Z stay the same..

Think I might be using the wrong actions here :)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2013, 05:43:58 AM »
Hi,

 you do seem to have a conflict of behavior, maybe another fsm also wants to modify
the position or actually set the position.

Have you doubled checked that the position you get is the right one, maybe the positioning it working just fine, but the vector3 is corrupted to begin with.

bye,

 Jean

lioncirth

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2013, 05:51:12 AM »
OK

I knew this would be the case....Me turning out to look incredibly stupid :P

It turns out my set up was what was causing the issues. I had a Parent Game Object called Player.

The children of this was my character and then the camera.

I disconnected them all and now it seems to work fine....not 100% sure why :P

Thanks Jean

and Id like to thank Lane - you spent a good amount of time trying to help and I really appreciate it :)

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Spawn Points and Spawning The Player
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2013, 06:14:36 AM »
Hi,

 Nothing stupid, it's just the way it goes most of the time :) there is a lot to look at and mistakes are so easily done, that it's just part of the game, so don't be too harsh on yourself.

bye,

 Jean