playMaker

Author Topic: Group movement  (Read 6042 times)

Tetsuo

• Playmaker Newbie
Group movement
« on: November 30, 2013, 06:11:33 PM »
Could u guys help me out where i can find a tutorial or similar in how i can create a group movement control such as that in syndicate. Sort of.  I'd want a team of four..maybe three units that can be selected using keypad numbers 1..4 so that nr.1 would be unit 1, nr.2 unit 2 and so on. All units selected perhaps a button of its own.

Id need the camera to focus on the selected unit/units while moving them with AWSD or my mouseclick. Meanwhile the unselected units should remain where they are unless they allready have a movement order from before.

I'm new to unity and i've gotten a huge interest in this add-on, but i just can't find a related tutorial. A lot of good stuff related to camera movement yes, but that movement part. Just bits and pieces..or i just don't get it :)

I'd really appreciate it if someone would lend a hand. I got this dream from since i was a kid, that i could some day make a game and trying to fullfill that dream.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: December 12, 2013, 05:26:13 PM by Tetsuo »

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Group movement
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 02:17:52 AM »
Hi,

Several ways to go.

-- either all your team reacts to the same user input

-- either you have a "master" in your team, that is controlled by the user, and then every one else in the team, simple follow that master.

so you need to cut down your problem.

-- can you have an object follow another,
-- can you switch the same user inputs between two object

when you solve the two questions above, doind your team will be ok.

bye,

Jean

Tetsuo

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2013, 03:34:29 PM »
Thanks for the answer, My objective would be the first one you implied. All units in the team reacts to the same user input, but they need to be so that they can be controlled individually.