playMaker

Author Topic: Looking for Best Practice: Blackbox Functions  (Read 2451 times)

tinjaw

• Playmaker Newbie
Looking for Best Practice: Blackbox Functions
« on: January 29, 2014, 04:47:53 PM »
I am new to Playmaker and not familiar with the proper idioms for building things. I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction.

I have to take a set of six numbers and run them through some computations. In standard programming I would make a function, call it with parameters, and return with values.

I don't know the proper way to do this in Playmaker. I can create a Game Object and attach a FSM to it and then sent it an event with global variables, however there is no way to have it return without hard wiring it. I am certain that this is not the way to do it.

I probably haven't provided enough information to fully explain my question, but I will be happy to elaborate if somebody can help.

Thanks

Lane

• Administrator
  • Mender of the past
    • Cleverous
Re: Looking for Best Practice: Blackbox Functions
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 04:55:16 PM »
Are you trying to send data from a Script to an FSM?
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

tinjaw

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 08:26:07 PM »
Are you trying to send data from a Script to an FSM?

No scripts. I have used Playmaker to read in values (constants) from PlayerPrefs and gotten some input using Playmaker actions with Daikon Forge. Now I need to do a series of calculations. They will be somewhat complicated and I don't want to just cut and paste, as then I will need to update in a bunch of places. I want to keep it DRY.

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2014, 05:20:37 AM »
Hi,