playMaker

Author Topic: Creating a Game Over  (Read 3187 times)

Justlivinganotherday

• Playmaker Newbie
Creating a Game Over
« on: March 18, 2014, 09:06:58 PM »
Hello! I'm fairly new to Playmaker but I've been messing with it for a while now and I have to say I'm very impressed by it but I need a little help in regards to a "Game Over" sequence.

Essentially what I want to do is when the player character falls or touches "spikes" which I already have I would like a few things to happen. First a sound effect, second a "Game Over" comes down into the Main Camera from above the screen as well as the "Retry" and "Main Menu" buttons. Which brings me to my 3rd point, I would like the "Retry" button to start the game again.

I know it's a lot to ask but I've been working on my project for a long time now and this is my only hurdle so far.

Thanks for the feedback in advance!

xhidnoda

Re: Creating a Game Over
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2014, 10:59:44 PM »
Make global event a "Collision Enter" on your player. So when hit Something, create a game over.

jeanfabre

• Administrator
  • Official Playmaker Support
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2014, 04:46:50 AM »
Hi,

Make sure you glance through the 100% playmaker small games by M2H, you'll find a lot of design patterns and solutions for all of these cases.

https://hutonggames.fogbugz.com/default.asp?W880

bye,

Jean

Justlivinganotherday

• Playmaker Newbie
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2014, 01:17:07 PM »
Thanks for the advice from both of you. The tutorials I viewed helped a little but ultimately I could not understand the majority of it. Essentially what I want to accomplish is a running player that is running on platforms to attempt to jump over incoming spikes on those platforms (infinite runner), then when that player impacts those spikes it initiates a game over or automatic restart.