playMaker

Author Topic: [Solved]Making worlds from Texture Atlas'. Build or store in Array.  (Read 2543 times)

TIGGYsmalls

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 80
I am making a 2d top down game like Zelda for mobile, I'm starting out building the worlds properly after getting the mechanics down and was using a 1x1 plane and texture atlas to build the world.

Would it be easier to build the levels over creating them from Playmaker Arrays (as they only seem to go upto 30).

Just thinking out loud: I guess building 1000+ tiles at the start of the game will make it chug. I should load areas when there going to be on screen.

Or is there a better way of doing this? Has anyone here made a map like this http://i.imgur.com/FxgMM.png ?

Any pointers?
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 06:44:25 AM by TIGGYsmalls »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Making worlds from Texture Atlas'. Build or store in Array.
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 10:41:39 AM »
Hi,

 arrays are unlimited in size :) where do you see this 30 items limitations?

For this you should definitly investigate the assets related to that kind of games on the asset store. they will improve your worflow and performances dramatically over trying to do that yourself.

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/14166
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/2648
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/14708
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/2392

Bye,

 Jean

TIGGYsmalls

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Making worlds from Texture Atlas'. Build or store in Array.
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 02:42:28 PM »
My fault. They do when I set up FSMs correctly.

I wish I knew what a draw call was about 3 months ago. I've made some mistakes.

Thank you.

Edit: I have a match game with 4 objects and when I build my grid I have about 64 Calls and 77 Saves.

But when I try and be smart and just use 1 object and use texture offset I have 142 Calls and 0 Saves.

Shouldn't it have gone down?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2014, 03:34:44 PM by TIGGYsmalls »

jeanfabre

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15500
  • Official Playmaker Support
Re: Making worlds from Texture Atlas'. Build or store in Array.
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2014, 02:18:52 PM »
Hi,

 Likely a problem in your logic. Trying to be smart comes at a cost of debugging why it's not that smart yet :)... I get that all the time... start with something that works even if a bit brute force, and then optimize incrementally.

bye,

 Jean

TIGGYsmalls

  • Junior Playmaker
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Making worlds from Texture Atlas'. Build or store in Array.
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 06:43:46 AM »
Well, its not that bad I guess, the game runs fine on my phone it just hangs for a second when the grid is built.

Thank you.