playMaker

Author Topic: "float filter" & "combo math"  (Read 4462 times)

MS80

• Junior Playmaker
"float filter" & "combo math"
« on: April 19, 2014, 06:18:22 PM »
Hi, I am new to Playmaker and absolutely hooked! It is easy to use and makes fun to work with...

After building up my first fsm's and logic's I assume these 2 actions could be useful:

1. float filter(or flatten, smooth):

At the moment I use "Vector3 Low Pass Filter" to filter a float value (set vector with float variable in it, filter this vector, dissolving float varialbe). It works fine, but 3 actions are needed and vectoroperation has to be calculated to smooth out a single float variable.
I found this custom action =>
http://hutonggames.com/playmakerforum/index.php?topic=2808.0
... but it is not working / show no effect at all (or I am using it in the wrong way)

2. combo math:
In many cases multiple math calculations has to be performed to get the final value...(f.e multiply 2 values, then add a 3rd value, subtract another varialbe, after that add something and at the end divide it by a factor and so on...) => with playmaker only 1 calculation (add, subtract, multiply, etc) in 1 action can be calculated, this results in a long sequence of actions doing single calculations, correct?!

So combining all these "simple" calculations in ONE combo action could be easier... Image you could define multiple variables as letters and write a little expression:

"combo math" (nr. of variable should be possible to edit)

A: variable1 (positionX)
B: varibale2 (min)
C: variable3 (max)
D: varibale4 (factor)
E: variable5 (offsetX)

((A+E)/1024)*D>B && A<=C) says 0 if false and 1 if true
there are so many possiblities...

What do you think? Maybe there exist already custom actions like this ?!?

« Last Edit: April 19, 2014, 06:20:16 PM by MS80 »

Kubold

Re: "float filter" & "combo math"
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 03:02:33 AM »