playMaker

Author Topic: Fixed Update [SOLVED]  (Read 2714 times)

3d_Artist1987

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Fixed Update [SOLVED]
« on: May 22, 2014, 02:50:08 AM »
hi,

i want to set my physic action to Fixed Update,how to do this,
i think every frame option is update only,Am i wrong?

or second option is i open .cs file and modify into Fixed Update.

Dev
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 06:13:32 PM by Alex Chouls »

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Mender of the past
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Re: Fixed Update
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 08:07:22 AM »
Which action are you referring to? The stock physics actions should already be done in FixedUpdate, or at least have an option for using it.

Are you making a new action?
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

3d_Artist1987

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed Update
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 12:56:11 AM »
Hi,

Thanks for reply,
i talking about get axis,get and set velocity actions.

Dev

Lane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Mender of the past
    • View Profile
    • Cleverous
Re: Fixed Update
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2014, 07:50:15 AM »
What is the reason for wanting to change it to FixedUpdate?

GetAxis is using Input.GetAxis which is done on Update by Unity. The reason Physics based actions are mostly on FixedUpdate is because it is framerate independent. Using it on Input actions has limited application.

Get/SetVelocity is a similar situation. Its basically just used to control the rate at which something is done.
Products by Cleverous
|| Vault Core : Database
|| Vault Inventory : Multiplayer Inventory
|| Vault Attributes : Character Stats
|| That Hurt! : Dmg Floaties
|| Quinn : 3D

3d_Artist1987

  • Beta Group
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed Update
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2014, 01:07:27 AM »
hi,

Thanks for sharing information.Now i understand no need fixed update in get axis and velocity action.

Dev

play_edu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed Update
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2014, 02:58:53 AM »
thanks