playMaker

Author Topic: Working with variables and conditions  (Read 1611 times)

matthew38940

• Playmaker Newbie
Working with variables and conditions
« on: August 05, 2014, 10:34:18 AM »
I am pretty new to Playmaker, but I have watched and read a lot in order to try and get familiar with it all.  My biggest question and possibly concern though has to do with conditions and variables.  I am trying to figure out the best way in playmaker to make things happen based on a variable. 

For instance, if I am working on basic card game and have 52 cards in the deck.  I want to give the player one random card out of the 52.  I figured out the random part easily and such, but the part I need help with is determining which of the cards it is.  I set it up to make a variable a random number (1 through 52) and got that working.  But I could not find an efficient way to then take that variable and depending on which number it is give it a card name.

Something like this equation (just an example I am by no means a coder of any language)
if (Card = 1)
{ CardinHand = AceOfHearts }
else if (Card = 2)
{CardinHand = KingOfHearts}
etc...

So basically is there way to make it easily read what number the random card is and then use that to change another variable to represent that card (and then later use that for various purposes)

So far the only way I have figured out to do so was to make a State that assigns the random number and then made 52 events based on each of the possible numbers.  And then make 52 states (one for each event) that then assigns which card it is.  It felt like a lot of busy work, for something that I feel other things handle very easily so I am guessing I am completely just missing something obvious.

I hope this makes sense and that someone can let me know if there is any easier methods.

Red

Re: Working with variables and conditions
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 01:20:22 PM »
If you're working with the four suits I'd probably break that up first.